Once you have moved your website from one place to another, you would like to remove some of the old content from the search engine, so that they won’t confuse your visitors.

There are multiple ways to do that. One approach is to add a robots.txt to your web directory, so that the old content will no longer be indexed by the search engine, and given some time, it will be removed from the search results.

This page from google explains it: http://support.google.com/webmasters/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=156449

Alternatively, if you are the webmaster, you can also follow the instruction of http://support.google.com/webmasters/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=1663427 to remove your content from Google.

Written by Shengdong Zhao

Shen is an Associate Professor in the Computer Science Department, National University of Singapore (NUS). He is the founding director of the NUS-HCI Lab, specializing in research and innovation in the area of human computer interaction.